2016-01-20 / Entertainment

Coming events

LETCHER COUNTY ROCK, POP, BLUES, RAP, CHRISTIAN, JAZZ GRANT LEE PHILLIPS (of Grant Lee Buffalo); Sat., Jan. 23 at Summit City in Whitesburg. Tickets, $15, on sale at www.summitcitylounge.com COLIN HAY; Sat., Feb. 13 in Whitesburg at Appalshop Theater. Tickets, $35, on sale at www.summitcitylounge.com LOGAN BRILL; Thu., Feb. 18 at Summit City in Whitesburg. Tickets, $17.25, on sale at www.summitcitylounge.com GLENN HUGHES (formerly of Deep Purple and Trapeze) featuring Doug Aldrich with special guests JOANNE SHAW TAYLOR and JARED JAMES NICHOLS; Wed., March 23 at Appalshop Theater in Whitesburg. For ticket information call promoter Greg Napier at 1-606- 434-8648. (Venue locations and telephone numbers: Appalshop, 633-0108; Streetside Grill & Bar, 203 Main St., 633-2721; Summit City, 214 Main St., 633-2715)

PIKEVILLE, KY. COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. LEE BRICE with TYLER FARR and DYLAN SCOTT; Sat., Feb. 20 at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center at 7:30 p.m. Tickets, $31.75 and $41.75. 1-606-444-5500. DWIGHT YOAKAM with LEE ANN WOMACK; Sat., April 16 at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center at 8 p.m. Tickets, $36.50, $46.50, and $56.50. 1-606-444-5500.

STAGE, COMEDY & OTHER DISNEY LIVE! Mickey and Minnie’s Doorway to Magic; Thu., March 17 at Eastern Kentucky Expo Center at 7:30 p.m. Tickets. 1-606- 444-5500.

ASHEVILLE, N.C. ROCK, POP, BLUES, RAP, CHRISTIAN, JAZZ JACKSON BROWNE (SOLO ACOUSTIC TOUR); Fri., Jan. 22 at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium. DONNA THE BUFFALO; Sat., Jan. 23 at The Orange Peel. REVEREND HORTON HEAT; Wed., Jan. 27 at The Grey Eagle. GRAVEYARD; Sat., Jan. 30 at The Orange Peel. BLACKBERRY SMOKE; Thu., Feb. 4 at The Orange Peel. WHITEY MORGAN; Thu., Feb. 11 at The Grey Eagle. DAN BAIRD AND HOMEMADE SIN; Tue., Feb. 16 at The Grey Eagle. DARK STAR ORCHESTRA; Thu., Feb. 18 at The Orange Peel. UMPHREY’S McGEE; Fri.-Sat., Feb. 19-20 at U.S. Cellular Center. TY SEGALL & THE MUGGERS; Wed., Feb. 24 at The Orange Peel. HACKENSAW BOYS; Thu., Feb. 24 at The Grey Eagle. KURT VILE & THE VIOLATORS; Fri., Feb. 26 at The Orange Peel. CEELO GREEN; Wed., March 2 at The Orange Peel. COREY SMITH; Sat., March 12 at The Orange Peel. MARC BROUSSARD; Sun., March 20 at The Grey Eagle. YO LA TENGO; Sat., April 2 at The Orange Peel. THEY MIGHT BE GIANTS; Thu., April 7 at The Orange Peel. HOT TUNA ACOUSTIC; Tue., April 19 at The Orange Peel. BEN HARPER & THE INNOCENT CRIMINALS; Sat., April 23 at The Orange Peel. GREG BROWN; Sat., May 7 at The Grey Eagle. ANIMAL COLLECTIVE; Sun., May 8 at The Orange Peel.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. RAILROAD EARTH; Sat., Jan. 16 at The Orange Peel. ROBERT EARL KEEN; Tue., Jan. 19 at The Orange Peel. JAMEY JOHNSON; Wed., Jan. 20 at The Orange Peel. YONDER MOUNTAIN STRING BAND; Sat., Jan. 29 at The Orange Peel. VINCE GILL & LYLE LOVETT; Sun., Feb. 21at Thomas Wolfe Auditorium. (Venue locations and telephone numbers: Altamont Theatre, 18 Church St., 1-828-348-5327; Biltmore Estate, 1 Approach Road, www.biltmore.com; Grey Eagle, 185 Clingman Ave., 1-828-232-5800; New Mountain Theatre, 38 N. French Broad Ave., 828-728-1701; Orange Peel, 101 Biltmore Ave., 1-828-232-5800; Biltmore Estate, 1-800-411-3812; Thomas Wolfe Auditorium, 87 Haywood St., 1-800-745-3000; U.S. Cellular Center Asheville, 87 Haywood St., 1-800- 745-3000; )

ASHLAND, Ky./ HUNTINGTON, W.Va. COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. LEE BRICE with TYLER FARR; Sat., April 16 in Huntington, W.Va., at Big Sandy Superstore Arena.

STAGE, COMEDY & OTHER MOLLY RINGWALD; Sun., Feb. 21 at Keith-Albee Theatre in Huntington, W.Va. (Venue locations and telephone numbers: Paramount Arts Center, 1300 Winchester Ave., Ashland, 1-606-324-3175; Big Sandy Superstore Arena, 1 Civic Center Plaza, Huntington, 1-304-696-5990; Harris Riverfront Park, 94 3rd Ave., Huntington; Keith-Albee Theatre, 925 4th Ave., Huntington, 1-304-696-6656; The V Club, 741 6th Ave., Huntington,

1-304-781-0680.)

ABINGDON, Va./ BRISTOL, Va.-Tenn. ROCK, POP, BLUES, RAP, CHRISTIAN, JAZZ COLIN HAY; Sun., Feb. 14 in Bristol, Va., at Paramount Center for the Arts. (Venue locations and telephone numbers: Barter Theatre, 127 Main St., Abingdon, Va., 1-276- 628-3991; 620 State, 620 State St., 1-423-652-0314; Paramount Center for the Arts, 518 State St., 1-423-274-8920; Viking Hall, 1-423-764-0188; Wolf Hills Brewing Co., 350 Park St. SE, Abington, Va., 276-451-5470.)

CHARLESTON, W.VA. ROCK, POP, BLUES, RAP, CHRISTIAN, JAZZ BLUE MAN GROUP; Tue., March 8 at Clay Center For The Arts & Sciences. SALT-N-PEPPA with COOLIO; Fri., March 25 at Clay Center For The Arts & Sciences. G. LOVE & SPECIAL SAUCE; Sun., March 27 at Cultural Center Theatre. GREGG ALLMAN; Wed., April 6 at Clay Center For The Arts & Sciences. WILCO; Wed., June 1 at Clay Center For The Arts & Sciences. THE TEMPTATIONS with THE FOUR TOPS; Thu., June 23 at Clay Center For The Arts & Sciences.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. VINCE GILL; Sun., May 8 at Clay Center For The Arts & Sciences. LUKE BRYAN with LITTLE BIG TOWN and DUSTIN LYNCH; Thu., April 7 at Charleston Civic Center. (Venue locations and telephone numbers: Charleston Municipal Auditorium and Charleston Civic Center, 200 Civic Center Drive, 1-304-345-7469; Cultural Center Theater, 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E.,1-304-556-4900; Clay Center for The Arts and Sciences, One Clay Square, 1-304-561-3570)

CINCINNATI/ NORTHERN KY. AREA ROCK, POP, BLUES, RAP, CHRISTIAN, JAZZ STEVE FORBERT; Wed., Jan. 20 at Southgate House Revival in Newport, Ky. QUEENSRYCHE; Wed., Jan. 27 at Bogart’s. REVEREND HORTON HEAT with UNKNOWN HINSON; Thu., Feb. 4 at Bogart’s. GRANT LEE PHILLIPS & STEVE POLZ; Sat., Feb. 13 at Live at the Ludlow Garage. VOIVOD; Tue., Feb. 23 at Southgate House Revival in Newport, Ky. DAVID BROMBERG; Fri., Feb. 26 at Live at the Ludlow Garage. JACK RUSSELL’S GREAT WHITE with L.A. GUNS (featuring Steve Riley and Phil Lewis); Fri., March 4 at Bogart’s. RICKIE LEE JONES; Sat., March 5 at Live at the Ludlow Garage. DROPKICK MURPHEYS; Sun., March 6 at Bogart’s. CHRIS KNIGHT; Fri., March 11 at Southgate House Revival in Newport, Ky. CALIFORNIA GUITAR TRIO; Sat., March 12 at Live at the Ludlow Garage. EXPERIENCE HENDRIX featuring Billy Cox, Buddy Guy, Zakk Wylde, Kenny Wayne Shepherd, Jonny Lang, Dweezil Zappa, Eric Johnson, Doyle Bramhall II and others; Sun., March 13 at Taft Theatre. DRIVE-BY TRUCKERS; Tue., March 15 at Bogart’s. DR. DOG; Tue., March 15 at Madison Theater in Covington, Ky. HAWTHORNE HEIGHTS with THE ATARIS and others; Wed., March 16 at Southgate House Revival in Newport, Ky. GREG DULLI; Thu., March 17 in Cincinnati at The Woodward Theatre. RIHANNA; Sat., March 19 at U.S. Bank Arena. FETTY WAP; Fri., March 25 at Bogart’s. THE CULT; Mon., March 28 at Taft Theatre. BILLY JOEL; Tue., April 5 at U.S. Bank Arena. IAN ANDERSON; Tue., April 12 at Aronoff Center for the Arts. JONATHAN EDWARDS; Sat., April 23 at Live at the Ludlow Garage. DREAM THEATER; Wed., April 27 at Taft Theatre. WANDA JACKSON; Sun., May 15 at Southgate House Revival in Newport, Ky. TOM RUSH; Fri., May 20 at Live at the Ludlow Garage. SELENA GOMEZ; Sun., June 5 at U.S. Bank Arena. GEORGE THOROGOOD & THE DESTROYERS; Sat., July 23 at Belterra Casino in Florence, Ind.

JUSTIN BIEBER; Fri., June 24 at U.S. Bank Arena. ‘The Rock Hall Three for All” featuring HEART, JOAN JETT & THE BLACKHEARTS, and CHEAP TRICK; Fri., July 22 at Riverend Music Center. 5 SECONDS OF SUMMER; Tue., July 26 at Riverbend Music Center. JOURNEY with THE DOOBIE BROTHERS and DAVE MASON; Fri., July 29 at Riverbend Music Center. MAROON 5; Thu., Sept. 29 at U.S. Bank Arena.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. KIP MOORE; Sat., Jan. 30 at Bogart’s. MONTGOMERY GENTRY; Sat., Feb. 13 at Belterra Casino in Florence, Ind. BLAKE SHELTON with CHRIS JANSON; Thu., Feb. 18 at U.S. Bank Arena. DIXIE CHICKS; Wed., June 1 at Riverbend Music Center. KEITH URBAN with BRETT ELDREDGE and MAREN MORRIS; Thu., July 14 at Riverbend Music Center. LUKE BRYAN with LITTLE BIG TOWN and DUSTIN LYNCH; Sat.-Sun., August 13-14 at Riverbend Music Center.

STAGE, COMEDY & OTHER RODNEY CARRINGTON; Sat., Feb. 27 at Belterra Casino in Florence, Ind. JEFF FOXWORTHY with LARRY THE CABLE GUY; Sat., March 12 at Taft Theatre. ( Venue locations and telephone numbers: 20th Century Theater, 3021 Madison Rd., 1-513- 731-8000; Aronoff Center’s Proctor and Gamble Hall, 650 Walnut St., 1-513-621-2787; BB&T Arena, Highland Heights, Ky., 1-859-442- 2652; Belterra Casino Resort, 777 Belterra Dr., Florence, Ind., 1-812- 427-7777; Bogart’s, 2621 Vine St., 1-513-872-8801; Cincinnati Music Hall, 1241 Elm Street, 1-513-744- 3344; Fraze Pavilion, 695 Lincoln Park Blvd., Kettering, Ohio, 1-937- 296-3300; Horseshoe Casino- Cincinnati, 1000 Broadway Street, 1-855-234-7469; Ludlow Garage, 342 Ludlow Ave., 1-513-221-4200; Madison Theater, 730 Madison Ave., Covington, Ky., 1-859-491- 2444; PNC Pavilion & Riverbend Music Center, 6925 Kellogg Ave., 1-513-232-6220; Rising Star Casino, 777 Rising Star Drive, Rising Sun, Ind., 1-800-GRAND-11; The Southgate House Revival, 111 E. Sixth St., Newport, Ky., 1-859-431-2201; Taft Theatre, 317 East 5th St., 1-513-721-8883; U.S. Bank Arena, 1-513-421-4111; Woodward Theatre, 1404 Main St., 1-513-345-7981)

JOHNSON CITY, Tenn. ROCK, POP, BLUES, RAP, CHRISTIAN, JAZZ WEBB WILDER; Sat., Jan. 30 at The Down Home. ELTON JOHN; Fri., March 11 at Freedom Hall Civic Center from 8 until 11 p.m. THIRD DAY; Fri., March 18 at Freedom Hall Civic Center. CAGE THE ELEPHANT with SILVERSUN PICKUPS, FOALS and BEAR HANDS; Sun., March 20 at Freedom Hall Civic Center. SISTER HAZEL; Sun., June 5 at Freedom Hall Civic Center at

6:30 p.m.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. LONESTAR; Sun., Dec. 6 at Freedom Hall Civic Center. (Venue locations and telephone numbers: Capone’s, 227 E. Main St., 1-423-928-2295; Casbah, 807 W. Walnut St.; The Down Home, 300 W. Main, 1-423-929-9822;Freedom Hall Civic Center, 1320 Pactolas Rd., 1-423-282-1257.)

KNOXVILLE, Tenn., AREA (includes Pigeon Forge) ROCK, POP, BLUES, RAP, CHRISTIAN, JAZZ THE BEACH BOYS; Sun., Feb. 21 at Tennessee Theatre. WARREN HAYNES; Sun., Feb. 28 at Bijou Theatre. KURT VILE; Wed., March 2 at Tennessee Theatre. FOREIGNER; Wed., March 2 at Tennessee Theatre. HEARTLESS BASTARDS; Thu., March 3 at Tennessee Theatre. BLUE MAN GROUP; Wed.-Thu., March 9-10 at Tennessee Theatre. JOHN MAYALL; Thu., March 10 at Bijou Theatre. THE 5TH DIMENSION; Sat., March 12 at Knoxville Auditorium. ROBIN TROWER; Sat., April 9 at Bijou Theatre. BEN HARPER; Wed., April 20 at Tennessee Theatre. WIDESPREAD PANIC; Mon.- Tue., April 25-26 at Tennessee Theatre. MAROON 5; Wed., Sept. 14 at Thompson-Boling Arena.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. DON WILLIAMS; Sat., Feb. 20 at Tennessee Theatre. BRANTLEY GILBERT; Fri., April 15 at Thompson-Boling Arena. (Venue locations and telephone numbers: Bijou Theatre, 803 S. Gay St., 1-865-522-0832; The Bowery, 125 E. Jackson St., 1-865-414-6050; Cider House, 121 Ramsey Street, 1-865- 544-4300; Cotton Eyed Joe, 11220 Outlet Drive, 1-865-675-3563; Country Tonite Theatre, 129 Showplace Blvd., Pigeon Forge, 1-800-792-4308; Knoxville Auditorium & Knoxville Civic Coliseum, 500 Howard Baker Jr. Ave., 1-865-656-4444; Tennessee Theatre, 604 S. Gay St., 1-865-656- 4444; The Square Room, 4 Market Square, 1-865-544-4199; Thompson- Boling Arena, 1600 Phillip Fulmer Way, 1-877-995-9961; Valarium, 1213 Western Ave., 1-865-522-2820)

LEXINGTON AREA ROCK, POP, BLUES, RAP, CHRISTIAN, JAZZ BILLY GIBBONS with TYLER BRYANT and THE SHAKEDOWN; Fri., Jan. 22 at Lexington Opera House. JIMMY WEBB; Thu., Feb. 25 at EKU Center for the Arts in Richmond. DELBERT McCLINTON; Fri., Feb. 26 at Grand Theater in Frankfort. WARREN HAYNES; Sat., Feb. 27 at Lexington Opera House. THE CHIEFTAINS; Wed., March 9 at EKU Center for the Arts in Richmond. JOAN BAEZ; Sat., March 12 at Lexington Opera House. GALACTIC; Wed., April 6 at Lyric Theatre & Cultural Arts Center. GREGG ALLMAN; Thu., April 7 at Lexington Opera House. KATHLEEN BATTLE; Sat., April

16 at EKU Center for the Arts in Richmond. BLUE MAN GROUP; Tue.-Wed., May 3-4 at EKU Center for the Arts in Richmond.

COUNTRY & BLUEGRASS, TRADITIONAL, ETC. YONDER MOUNTAIN STRING BAND; Wed., Jan. 20 at Lyric Theatre & Cultural Arts Center. BRANTLEY GILBERT; Fri., Jan. 29 at Rupp Arena. MOUNTAIN HEART; Thu., April 7 at EKU Center for the Arts in Richmond. ‘RED, WHITE & BOOM FESTIVAL’ featuring Eric Church, Kacey Musgraves, Jason Aldean, Thomas Rhett, Florida Georgia Line, Cole Swindell and others; Fri.-Sun., Sept. 2-4 at Whitaker Bank Ballpark.

STAGE, COMEDY & OTHER JEFF FOXWORTHY with LARRY THE CABLE GUY; Fri., Feb. 19 at Rupp Arena. (Venue locations and telephone numbers: Buster’s, 899 Manchester St., 1-859-368-8871; Cosmic Charlie’s, 388 Woodland Dr., 1-859- 309-9499; EKU Center for the Arts, 521 Lancaster Ave., Richmond, 1-859-622-7469; Frankfort Convention Center, 405 Mero Street, 1-502-564-5334; Grand Theatre, 312 W. Main St., Frankfort, 1-502- 352-7469; Kentucky Theatre, 214 E. Main Street, 1-859-231-7924; Lyric Theatre, 300 E. Third St., 1-859-280- 2218; Natasha’s, 112 Esplanade, 1-888-259-6873; Norton Center for the Arts, 600 W. Walnut St., Danville, 1-877-448-7469; Rupp Arena & Lexington Opera House, 1-859-233-3535; UK Singletary Center for the Arts, 405 Rose Street, 1-859-257-4929)

LOUISVILLE AREA ROCK, POP, BLUES, RAP, CHRISTIAN, JAZZ MADONNA; Sat., Jan. 16 at KFC Yum! Center. GRAVEYARD; Fri., Jan., 29 at Headliners Music Hall. MACKLEMORE & RYAN LEWIS; Sun., Jan. 31 at Louisville Palace. WIDESPREAD PANIC; Sat., Feb. 20 at Louisville Palace. BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN & THE E STREET BAND; Sun., Feb. 21 at KFC Yum! Center. KURT VILE; Wed., Feb. 24 at Headliners Music Hall. HEARTLESS BASTARDS; Fri., March 4 at Headliners Music Hall. FALL OUT BOY; Thu., March 10 at KFC Yum! Center. THE WHO; Sat., March 12 at KFC Yum! Center. TITUS ANDRONICUS with CRAIG FINN; Thu., March 17 at Headliners Music Hall. SHOOTER JENNINGS; Fri., March 18 at Headliners Music Hall. BONNIE RAITT; Sat., March 19 at Louisville Palace. TORTOISE; Tue., March 22 at Headliners Music Hall. EARTH, WIND & FIRE with CHICAGO; Tue., March 29 at KFC Yum! Center. THE MOODY BLUES; Wed., March 30 at Louisville Palace. JUSTIN BIEBER; Wed., April 20 at KFC Yum! Center. MY MORNING JACKET; Thu.- Fri., May 12-13 in Louisville at Iroquois Amphitheatre. Ticket sales begin Jan. 22. WANDA JACKSON; Sat., May 14 at Headliners Music Hall.

Return to top